Scandinavian crime fiction & the 2010 CWA International Dagger Award

by Peter

The line-up for the International Dagger Award is quite interesting from a Scandinavian perspective: Among the six shortlisted authors are three from the Scandinavian countries. They are all, of course, excellent authors and great books:

  1. Tonino Benacquista: Badfellas
  2. Andrea Camilleri: August Heat
  3. Arnaldur Indridason: Hypothermia
  4. Stieg Larsson: The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest
  5. Deon Meyer: Thirteen Hours
  6. Johan Theorin: The Darkest Room

Indridason, Larsson and Theorin are all wonderful and write excellent crime fiction. Even so, this time I have to say that I hope Stieg Larsson wins. Not only because The Girl Who Kicket the Hornets’ Nest is superb, but also because this is Larsson’s last chance to win this prize. Stieg Larsson will, sadly, not be competing any more.

PS: Johan Theorin actually won the CWA International Dagger with The Darkest Room. I had hoped for Stieg Larsson, partly for sentimental reasons, but The Darkest Room is an excellent novel too. Our congratulations to Johan Theorin and Sweden!

Related Posts:

{ 2 comments… read them below or add one }

Previous post:

Next post: