Norwegian writer Roy Jacobsen shortlisted for the 2009 Dublin Literary Award

by Peter

Norwegian author Roy Jacobsen is on the shortlist for the 2009 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award that was formally announced by The Lord Mayor of Dublin, Eibhlin Byrneon April 2nd, 2009 at 10.00am in The Mansion House. This is an extremely prestigeous award. The shortlist was selected from a total of 146 novels nominated by 157 public library systems in 117 cities worldwide. The Award is worth €100,000 and is the world’s most valuable literary prize for a single work of fiction published in English.

Eight titles are shortlisted for the prize. The shortlisted titles and authors are:

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz (Dominican / American) Riverhead Books
Ravel by Jean Echenoz (French) in translation. The New Press
The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid (Pakistani / British) Hamish Hamilton /  Harcourt / Doubleday Canada
The Archivist’s Story by Travis Holland (American) Dial Press
The Burnt-Out Town of Miracles by Roy Jacobsen (Norwegian) in translation. John Murray Publishers
The Indian Clerk by David Leavitt (American) Bloomsbury Publishing
Animal’s People by Indra Sinha (Indian / British) Simon & Schuster
Man Gone Down by Micheal Thomas (American) Grove / Atlantic

These are, of course, all outstanding books. For Roy Jacobsen this is a wonderful recognition of his work. Roy Jacosen is the author of a large number of great books. Here are links to his books at amazon US and at amazon UK

The five member judging panel, chaired by  Hon. Eugene R. Sullivan, will select one winner from the short list which will be announced by The Patron of the Award, The Lord Mayor of Dublin, Eibhlin Byrne, on Thursday June 11th 2009.

Recent previous winners of the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award  include:
De Niro’s Game by Rawi Hage (2008) and Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson (2007).

Read more about the Dublin Literary Award at their site.

Related Posts:

Previous post:

Next post: