Leif G.W. Persson won the prize for Best Swedish Crime Fiction novel 2010

by Peter

Persson won the prize for his novel Den döende detektiven (The Dying Detective). This is the third time Leif GW Persson has won this prestigious prize. He also won it in 1982 and 2003. Leif GW PerssonHåkan Nesser is the only other Swedish crime fiction author that has won the prize three times. Unfortunately, only one of Persson’s books has so far been translated into English: Between Summer’s Longing and Winter’s End.


  • Grisfesten, 1978
  • Profitörerna, 1979
  • Samhällsbärarna, 1982
  • Mellan sommarens längtan och vinterns köld, 2002 (Between Summer’s Longing and Winter’s Cold, 2010)
  • En annan tid, ett annat liv, 2003
  • Linda – som i Lindamordet, 2005
  • Faller fritt som i en dröm, 2007
  • Den som dödar draken, 2008
  • Den döende detektiven, 2010

Leif GW Persson is a professor of criminology and an excellent writer. His main character is Lars Martin Johansson – known among his colleagues as “the man who can see around corners”.

Persson’s writing style is quite lyrical; his perspective on the Swedish police and Swedish society in general is very cynical.

Related Posts:

Previous post:

Next post: